Public schools in South Australia began implementing the Australian Curriculum in 2012 beginning with Mathematics and Science followed by English and History in 2013. Other curriculum areas will be introduced from 2014.

In 2015 teachers use SACSA (South Australian Standards and Accountability Framework) document to plan, assess and report in the other areas of study: Health & Physical Education and Technology.

The Australian Curriculum includes seven General Capabilities and three Cross Curricula priorities:

General Capabilities

  • Literacy

  • Numeracy

  • Information & Communication Technology (ICT) capability

  • Critical and Creative Thinking

  • Personal and Social Capability

  • Ethical Understanding

  • Intercultural Understanding

Cross Curricula Priorities

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures

  • Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia

  • Sustainability

The general capabilities encompass the knowledge, skills behaviours and dispositions that, together with the curriculum content in each learning area and the cross curriculum priorities, will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.

Information and Communication Technology / Computers

Students use IWB compatible computers. 

In classrooms teachers use Interactive Whiteboards as an integral part of their teaching. In addition, preschool – Year 1 classes have access to  tablets to support learning while Year 2- 6 classes have laptops to support their learning.